Calendar


Baltimore City Council’s Urban Affairs Committee vote on bill to ban housing discrimination based on source of income

01/22/2019

Join us at City Hall on Tuesday to support CB# 18-0308 to ban housing discrimination based on source of income!
 
Baltimore City Council legislation would ensure fair treatment of renters throughout Baltimore City. We need a strong turnout to show our elected officials that we support the bill.

What:  The Baltimore City Council’s Urban Affairs Committee will be voting on CB# 18-0308, legislation to end "source of income" discrimination in housing.

When: Tuesday, January 22, 2019 at 2:00 pm

Where:  City Hall, 100 Holliday Street, Du Burns Council Chamber, 4th Floor

Join Us:  Wear a YELLOW shirt in support of Fair Housing!


CB# 18-0308 will protect renters throughout the city by prohibiting landlords from discriminating against them based on their source of income. “Source of income” means any lawful source of funds used to rent housing, including money from lawful employment, any government or private assistance, and any gift such as an inheritance or alimony.  
 
Source of income discrimination contributions to concentrations of poverty and racially segregated housing. Thirteen states prohibit the practice, as do over 70 local jurisdictions. In 2017, the American Bar Association adopted policy urging governments to prohibit the practice. It is time for Baltimore to stop allowing this form of housing discrimination!  

Read more about the City bill and source of income discrimination in housing here.
 
Also, please contact your councilmember, particularly committee members, and ask them to support the bill. You can find out who your councilmember is by entering your address here.

The members of the committee are:
 
John Bullock: 410-396-4815, John.Bullock@baltimorecity.gov
Kristefer Burnett: 410-396-4818, Kristerfer.Burnett@baltimorecity.gov
Zeke Cohen: 410-396-4821, Zeke.Cohen@baltimorecity.gov
Ryan Dorsey (CB#18-0308 Sponsor): 410-396-4812, Ryan.Dorsey@baltimorecity.gov
Bill Henry: 410-396-4830, Bill.Henry@baltimorecity.gov
Isaac “Yitzy” Schleifer: 410-396-4819, Isaac.Schleifer@baltimorecity.gov
Shannon Sneed: 410-396-4829, Shannon.Sneed@baltimorecity.gov
 

*****
The following organizations support this legislation:
 
ACLU of Maryland
Baltimore Chapter, NAACP
Baltimore Housing Roundtable
Baltimore Regional Housing Partnership
BRIDGE Maryland, Inc.
Citizens Planning and Housing Association
Community Development Network of Maryland
Disability Rights Maryland
Health Care for the Homeless
Homeless Persons Representation Project
Jews United for Justice
Public Justice Center
United Workers


Questions?
Antonia Fasanelli, Executive Director, Homeless Persons Representation Project: 410.685.6589 ext. 17; afasanelli@hprplaw.org; or
Matt Hill, Attorney, Public Justice Center: 410.400.6947; hillm@publicjustice.org